Opening Speakers


Prof. Luis Ceze
“Borrowing from Nature to Build Better Computers”

Prof. Luis CezeLuis Ceze is the Torode Family Professor in the Computer Science and Engineering Department at the University of Washington. His research focuses on the intersection between computer architecture, programming languages and biology. His current focus is on approximate computing and DNA-based data storage. He has co-authored over 100 papers in these areas, and had several papers selected as IEEE Micro Top Picks and CACM Research Highlights. His research has been featured prominently in the media including The New York Times, Popular Science, MIT Technology Review, and The Wall Street Journal. He is a recipient of an NSF CAREER Award, a Sloan Research Fellowship, a Microsoft Research Faculty Fellowship and the 2013 IEEE TCCA Young Computer Architect Award. He is also a member of the DARPA ISAT advisory committee. When he is not working he is found either eating or cooking.




Prof. Margaret Martonosi
“End of Moore’s Law Challenges and Opportunities: Computer Architecture Perspectives”

Prof. Margaret MartonosiMargaret Martonosi is the Hugh Trumbull Adams ’35 Professor of Computer Science at Princeton University, where she has been on the faculty since 1994. Martonosi’s research interests are in computer architecture and mobile computing, with particular focus on power-efficient systems and recently on hardware and software concurrency verification. Her work has included the development of the Wattch power modeling tool, the Princeton ZebraNet mobile sensor network project for the design and real-world deployment of zebra tracking collars in Kenya, and most recently a thread of work on architectures and toolflows for Quantum Computing. Martonosi is a Fellow of both IEEE and ACM. Notable awards include the 2010 Princeton University Graduate Mentoring Award, the 2013 NCWIT Undergraduate Research Mentoring Award, the 2013 Anita Borg Institute Technical Leadership Award, the 2015 Marie Pistilli Women in EDA Achievement Award, and the 2015 ISCA Long-Term Influential Paper Award.




Prof. Karlheinz Meier
“Continuously Learning Neuromorphic Systems with High Biological Realism”

Prof. Karlheinz MeierCredit: F.Hentschel, Ruprecht-Karls-Universitat, Heidelberg, Germany

Karlheinz Meier was appointed full professor of physics at Heidelberg University in 1992, where he co-founded the Kirchhoff-Institute for Physics. He has more than 25 years of experience in experimental particle physics, including design of a large-scale electronic data processing system that enabled the discovery of the Higgs Boson in 2012. Around 2005 he became interested in large-scale electronic implementations of brain-inspired computer architectures. His group pioneered several innovations in the field like the conception of a platform-independent description language for neural circuits (PyNN), time-compressed mixed-signal neuromorphic computing systems, and wafer-scale integration for their implementation. He led 2 major European initiatives, FACETS and BrainScaleS. In 2009 he was one of the initiators of the European Human Brain Project (HBP) that was approved in 2013. In the HBP he leads the subproject on neuromorphic computing with the goal of establishing brain-inspired computing paradigms as research tools for neuroscience and generic hardware systems for cognitive computing. In the HBP he is a member of the project directorate and vice-chair of the science and infrastructure board.



Prof. Robert Schoelkopf
“The Prospects for Quantum Computing with Superconducting Circuits”

Prof. Robert SchoelkopfRobert Schoelkopf is the Sterling Professor of Applied Physics and Physics at Yale University. A graduate of Princeton University, Schoelkopf earned his Ph.D. at the California Institute of Technology. His group is a leader in the development of solid-state quantum bits (qubits) for quantum computing, and the advancement of their performance to practical levels. The Yale team has produced many firsts in the field based on superconducting circuits, including the development of a “quantum bus” for information, and the first demonstrations of quantum algorithms and quantum error correction with integrated circuits. This work has been recognized with several awards, including Joseph F. Keithley Award of the American Physical Society, the Max Planck Forschungspreis, and, together with his colleague Michel Devoret, the John Stewart Bell Prize and the Fritz London Memorial Prize. He is a co-founder and the Chief Architect at Quantum Circuits, Inc.




Opening Speakers

Dr. Hava Siegelmann
“DARPA’s Vision for the Future of Computing”

Dr. Hava SiegelmannDr. Hava Siegelmann is currently Program Manager for the DARPA Microsystems Technology Office (MTO), where her interests are in developing programs that advance intelligence in computerized devices, focusing on life-long learning, context-aware adaptivity, and user-centered applications. Prior to joining DARPA, she directed the Biologically Inspired Neural and Dynamical Systems (BINDS) Laboratory at the University of Massachusetts Amherst, from which she is on leave. Dr. Siegelmann is widely known for her work in Support Vector Clustering and in Super-Turing computation theory. She has over 150 publications, over 20 book chapters, and over 40 proceedings papers. She is also the author of Neural Networks and Analog Computation: Beyond the Turing Limit, and is the 2016 recipient of the Hebb Award of the International Neural Network Society. Dr. Siegelmann holds a PhD in Computer Science from Rutgers University.